top of page

"Cool as the other Side..."

It still amazes me how some things just seem to come together. I know I haven’t posted in a while but I try to remain as authentic as possible by writing when inspired to do so. I knew I wanted to do an end of the year/New Year post, I just didn’t know when. Last week, I started working on a new post. Per the usual, as I am typing, I scrapped most of what I wrote and started from scratch.

One thing that I’ve been working on and want to expand in 2015 is my BRAND; personally and professionally. By my BRAND, I mean what I represent, how others perceive me, and what I can always guarantee. “Your brand should represent you in any aspect of your life”, Anonymous. Take Coca Cola for example. Their branding statement is “To inspire moments of optimism and happiness”. This has nothing to do with their soft drinks but everything to do with their promise to us as the consumers.

If you went home to Glory, passed to the other side, crossed the River (as the old folks say), or simply died tomorrow, what would you be known for? Today, when I woke up, thanked the Man Above for another day, and checked my social media, I learned that ESPN anchor Stuart Scott had passed. No, I don’t watch ESPN often but I do know who the great Stuart Scott is. I, like everyone else, am sad but I am more inspired. I have watched several interviews with Stuart Scott as he battled with cancer. I shed tears when he spoke of his bond with his daughters and how he was preparing them for life. I shed a tear or two during his speech at the Espy’s this past summer. I am inspired because we are here celebrating his life, remembering his legacy, and acknowledging his brand. I read an article posted on ESPN and it described the top 10 roles that Stuart Scott played at ESPN. Father, competitor, charmer, and warrior are some of the attributes used to describe Stuart Scott. That was his brand. His brand was applicable to all aspects of his life, not just on television, and we all recognize it. We all know his famous catchphrases “Boo-Yow” and “Cool as the other side of the pillow”. That type of brand is what I am working towards.

“Do not neglect the spiritual gift that is in you… Practice these things and devote yourself to them, in order that your progress may be seen by all. Watch yourself and watch your teaching. Keep on doing these things, because if you do, you will save both yourself and those who hear you”. 1 Timothy 4:14-16, Good News Translation.

I thank Stuart Scott for continuing to bless us with his gift in spite of his personal life. Days when he was tired, exhausted, physically drained, and overwhelmed, he continued to shine on ESPN, never letting us see the physical battle he was fighting. I get tired, frustrated, and anxious but I will always refer back to that Bible verse to keep me grounded. We are all blessed with a spiritual gift that we must nurture and give back to the world. We spend so much time dwelling on the why not’s that we fail to see all the reasons that we CAN succeed! Stuart Scott battled cancer since 2007 and never once did he complain. He continued to use his wit, charm, and determination to overpower his diagnosis. We must apply that same principal to our lives. We all make resolutions each year. We all have faults and barriers that may seem to prevent us from achieving our goals but we MUST focus on the positive to overshadow our fears!

I’m sure my branding statement may change over time but right now, here it is: “To use my voice as a means to bring awareness to issues and my actions to reflect my dedication to being a part of the solution”. That is what I want to be known for. Take a moment and think about your brand, how do you want to be remembered? Let me know in the comments. #GrowWithMe yall!

Blessings and prosperity in the New Year,

-GrannyBee

“You beat cancer by how you live, why you live, and in the manner in which you live.” Stuart Scott. You won, King!

stu.png

Here’s the ESPN article: http://espn.go.com/espn/story/_/id/12118296/stuart-scott-espn-anchor-dies-age-49

Did you miss...
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page