top of page

#GrowWithBee

Every day for 2 years, I've made a conscious decision to refrain from eating meat. I’m always asked, will you do this forever? I have no desire to eat meat. I look at some golden, piping hot chicken wings and say “OOOhhhh that looks sooo good” but it’s still not enough to make me actually eat one. At restaurants, I automatically skip over meat dishes and see what seafood is available or what dish I can alter to my tastes. When I am grocery shopping, I do not think about purchasing anything with meat. I search for recipes that do not require any meat (besides seafood) and I am always modifying recipes. At family events, I typically bring my own food. But now that my family and friends are used to my eating habits, someone usually thinks about me and makes me a dish or two. (spoiled !)

I have been asked so many times, why did I stop eating meat and I still don’t have an exact answer. (See my thoughts when I first started by clicking Here ) . In retrospect, I think I finally figured out why I made the transition. 2014 was a very rough year for me. All of my surroundings changed and familiar faces became strangers. My entire life changed. I like to be in control and try to prevent anything that causes me to be in an uncomfortable state. When I first stopped eating meat, it was challenge to myself. I believe it was also a distraction for me. I focused so hard on my eating habits that I was able to block any depressing thoughts. I was finally in control of something and I loved it. I needed it to get me through a tough time.

And it worked. I threw myself into my eating, volunteering, organizations, my blog, going to church, working out, and everything turned itself around. (Won’t HE do it!)

So why am I unable to read my Bible every day? I mean really read and study the word. Sure, I read my Bible plans and I take notes in Church that I never revisit and actually retain the message. I treat my faith walk like working out. I’ll go so hard in the gym for weeks and then when I’m feeling good and people start complimenting me, I get comfortable and go right back to eating out and making excuses. But as soon as my pants start fitting tighter, I go right back to working out like I’m training for the Olympics. (not really but you get it). And just like my body forgives me, God does too.

With everything going on in this world, I have to treat my faith just like my Pescatarian lifestyle. I have to give it my all. I know I have so much more to live for and offer. When I attended the 1st year anniversary of The Life Church, Pastor Gordon said something that stirred me up. He said that most of us are comfortable sitting in the kiddy pool and are afraid to venture outside of that space into the ocean. We are comfortable in our spiritual life and won’t allow God to take us further. I’m not trying to preach but when I leave this Earth, I want to know that I used up every ounce of potential that I was given, that I did it all, and that I have a home in Heaven. I have done a lot in my 27 years but I know I am capable of so much more.

When I first stopped eating meat, I took it one day at a time. Every day, I made up in my mind I would not eat meat until it became natural, a habit. It’s so natural for me now to not think about eating meat. So every day for the next 30 days, I will make up in mind that I will read my Bible. Even if it’s just a verse, I will block out the noise and give praise and thanks! Join me in my challenge and let me know how it’s working for you. Use the Hashtag #GrowwithBee.

Grow with me,

-Granny Bee

Thanks Chance The Rapper for Coloring Book. I needed it.

Did you miss...
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page